Connect with us


Afghanistan names squad for Bangladesh ODI and T20I series



(Last Updated On: February 14, 2022)

Afghanistan has named their squads for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against Bangladesh.

Hashmatullah Shahidi will lead the side in the ODIs, slated to begin from February 23rd while Mohammad Nabi will captain the side in the T20Is.

The T20Is will count towards the ICC T20I Rankings, while the ODIs will be part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

There are five changes to the T20I lineup from the T20 World Cup last year with Darwish Rasooli, Azmarullah Omarzai, Afsar Zazai, Qais Ahmad and Nijat Masoud replacing Asghar Afghan (retired), Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Shahzad, Hashmatullah, Hamid Hassan and Naveen ul Haq in the 16-member side.

According to the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) there are a few changes to the ODI side as well.

“From the 18 players who were part of the recently-concluded ODI series against the Netherlands, Usman Ghani has been left out, while top-order batter Ibrahim Zadran and the senior all-rounder Mohammad Nabi have been added to the 16-man squad, while Salim Safi and Qais Ahmad have been named as traveling reserve.”

ACB Chairman Mirwais Ashraf said: “The selectors have included some young faces to the ODI line up which is a good sign for us, as we are leading into the World Cup next year. The three ODIs are important for us and I am sure the squad carries enough strength to do well when they get to the field”.

The Afghan team arrived in Dhaka on Saturday and will spend seven days in training ahead of their ODI series.

The first T20I is scheduled for March 3 while the second and final T20I will take place on March 5.


Ireland beat Afghanistan in the fifth match to win 3-2



(Last Updated On: August 18, 2022)

Ireland clinched the series 3-2 against Afghanistan on Wednesday night when they secured a seven-wicket victory over the visitors.

Mark Adair saw his first two deliveries flayed to the off side boundary only to respond with two wickets in as many balls in the game’s second over. Hazratullah Zazai sliced one to mid off where Simi Singh took a good over the shoulder catch while Rahmanullah Gurbaz nicked off the next ball.

Afghanistan wrested back some momentum when Usman Ghahu bludgeoned 20 off Singh’s solitary over, but a double strike from Josh Little — the second via a stunning Lorcan Tucker catch behind the stumps — put Ireland back in control before the rain came.

That brought the Afghanistan innings to a close. Ireland were eventually given seven overs to chase just 56. Andrew Balbirnie launched an early boundary over mid off while Paul Stirling also found the rope on two occasions to ensure Ireland kept up with the rate.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman did remove the openers to give Afghanistan a sniff but Harry Tector combined with George Dockrell to see the side home.

Continue Reading


ICC announce Afghanistan’s tour program for 2023 to 2027 cycle



(Last Updated On: August 17, 2022)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has released the Future Tours Program (FTP) for the cycle (2023-2027), which will see Afghanistan play 21 tests, 45 ODIs and 57 T20I matches.

Afghanistan are scheduled to play four series against Ireland and three against Zimbabwe while also taking on top teams like Australia, India and New Zealand in the next cycle of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s Future Tours Programme that runs from 2023-27.

The announcement of the FTP, a result of the collective effort of Full Members with ICC’s support, ensures certainty of cricket fixtures with the confirmation of all bilateral series across the three formats. The exact dates and venues of the series are for the Members to announce in due course.

Afghanistan’s commitments commence with a full away tour of Bangladesh consisting of two Tests, three ODIs and three T20Is in June 2023.

Tours against Zimbabwe, Pakistan and the West Indies will be hosted over the next few months.

The maximum number of Tests for Afghanistan are penciled against Zimbabwe, whom they will also play in 12 ODIs and 12 T20Is apart from five Tests. Ireland, who got Test status along with Afghanistan in 2017, will be their rivals in four Tests, 12 ODIs and 10 T20Is.

The FTP announced today also confirms both home and away commitments against Australia, India and New Zealand.

Afghanistan Cricket Board Chief Executive Officer Naseeb Khan welcomed the announcement of the FTP.

ACB CEO Naseeb Khan: “Afghanistan Cricket Board is delighted to be a major part of the ICC’s Future Tours Program for the next cycle 2023-2027. The increased number of test matches will largely impact the growth of the game itself as well as the players, which is key in terms of our future plans.

Continue Reading


ACB names squad for Asia Cup 2022



(Last Updated On: August 17, 2022)

Afghanistan Cricket Board announced Tuesday its 17-member squad for the ACC Men’s T20 Asia Cup 2022, which will be played from August 27 to September 11 in the United Arab Emirates.

From the 16 players who are part of the Afghan Squad for the ongoing Ireland T20I Series, Samiullah Shinwari has replaced Sharafuddin Ashraf, who is now one of the reserve players for the event, along with Qais Ahmad and Nijat Masoud.

In addition, the left-arm wrist-spinner Noor Ahmad, who was replaced by Mujeeb Ur Rahman for the Ireland series, has also found his way to the side.

Chief selector Noor Malikzai said: “The Asia Cup is an important event for us and, as such, we have picked our best available players for the event. Samiullah Shinwari has been added to the side for the Asia Cup. He is in very good form and can give further impetus to the batting department, which already boasts Ibrahim Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran and Mohammad Nabi.

“Shinwari has not played any international match since March 2020, but he has done well in the recently held Shpageeza Cricket League 2022 and demonstrated that he is a good option to strengthen our middle order,” Malikzai said.

The Afghan National Team is currently in Ireland for a 5-match T20I series against the host country. The team will depart for UAE for the Asia Cup after Wednesday’s series decider against Ireland.

ACC Men’s T20 Asia Cup 2022

Group A – India, Pakistan and Qualifier (one of UAE, Kuwait, Singapore and Hong Kong to qualify)
Group B – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka

27 August – Afghanistan v Sri Lanka, Dubai (DSC)
30 August – Afghanistan v Bangladesh, Sharjah
3-9 Sep – Super Four Stage

Afghanistan Squad for ACC T20 Asia Cup – Mohammad Nabi (C), Najibullah Zadran (VC), Afsar Zazai (WK), Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Mujib ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Rashid Khan and Samiullah Shinwari. Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Sharafuddin Ashraf are the three players who are reserves.

Continue Reading


Copyright © 2022 Ariana News. All rights reserved!